top of page

India's Prime Ministers

The Democratic Republic of India works with a parliamentary system of government. Thus, it has a President, but it receives direct advice from a Prime Minister, who is at the head of the Executive. The Prime Minister of India is not directly elected by the people, but rather appointed by the President, so that the leader of the political party who obtains an absolute majority in Lok Sabha (one of the two chambers of Parliament) is appointed as Prime Minister of the country for a 5-year term.

Jawaharlal Nehru was India's first Prime Minister, shortly after independence in 1947. As part of pro-independence activism, alongside Mahatma Gandhi, Nehru fulfilled his first term from 1947-1952 as interim Prime Minister and in 1952 was officially elected. In 1957 and 1962, Nehru was re-elected, but did not complete his last term due to the advent of his death in 1964. Nehru's legacy is characterized mainly by a strong belief in non-alignment and also by prioritizing the development of nationalism and Indian internal stability.

Narendra Modi was elected as Prime Minister for the first time in 2014, and is now serving his second term due to his re-election in 2019. One of his main focuses is bringing together other States, mainly in South Asia, but also with the great world powers. As a major emerging power, India has been increasingly engaged in multilateral relations and Modi is invested in it.

The current Indian PM, in fact, maintains close ties with Brazil, which, despite the pandemic, are being strengthened in order to explore the beneficial sectors for cooperation between the two nations!



bottom of page